NREVSD joins group to oppose mandates

NREVSD joins group to oppose mandates

The New Richmond Exempted Village School District has joined 40 other Greater Cincinnati school districts in forming the Greater Cincinnati School Advocacy Network to lobby Ohio legislators to scale back on unfunded mandates returning local control to education.

“By joining the Greater Cincinnati School Advocacy Network we hope to encourage parents, educators and community leaders to contact their legislators to eliminate unfunded mandates. We would like to see reductions in testing time, data-collection requirements and teacher evaluation programs and return local control to schools,” explained New Richmond Supt. Adam Bird.

Some of the unfunded mandates the advocacy group opposes include:

• OTES - the Ohio Teacher Evaluation System • The third grade guarantee • College credit plus • Ohio's new career advising policies • Teacher residency programs • Career technical requirements at the Junior High level.

The Greater Cincinnati School Advocacy Network conducted a random telephone survey of over 800 southwest Ohio registered voters in May 2015.

Some results of that survey:

41.6% percent saying current testing requirements hurt more than helps (26.5%);
50.7% wanted local control of education rather than the Ohio Board of Education (27.1%);
62.1% disagreed with local tax levy funds approved by voters for public schools being shared with for-profit charter and online charter schools;
80.8% said the State Legislature should reduce the amount of mandates and demands it places on public schools, and give more control to communities and local school boards;
93.8% agreed that privately-operated charter schools that receive public tax dollars should be held to the same standards for transparency and accountability as public schools.

 Edgewood City Schools, Fairfield City Schools, Hamilton City Schools, Lakota Local Schools, Madison Local Schools, Middletown City Schools, Monroe Local Schools, New Miami Local Schools, Ross Local Schools, Talawanda Schools

Batavia Local Schools, Bethel-Tate Local Schools, Goshen Local Schools, Milford Exempted Village School District, New Richmond EV School District, West Clermont Local Schools, Williamsburg Local Schools

Cincinnati Public Schools, Deer Park Community City Schools, Finneytown Local Schools, Forest Hills Local Schools, Indian Hill School District, Lockland Local Schools, Loveland City Schools, Madeira City Schools, Mariemont City Schools, Mt. Healthy City Schools, North College Hill City Schools, Northwest Local Schools, Norwood City Schools, Oak Hills Local Schools, Princeton City Schools, Reading Community Schools, St. Bernard-EP School District, Southwest Local Schools, Sycamore Community Schools, Three Rivers School District, Wyoming City Schools

Little Miami Schools, Mason City Schools, Springboro Community Schools

Print This Article
View text-based website